Research Institution Partners

ADMINISTRATIVE LEAD

The University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science-Appalachian Laboratory serves as the administrative lead of the CHWA CESU.

Director and Primary Contact:
Dr. Eric Davidson
 301-689-7204
edavidson@umces.edu

Mailing Address:
UMCES-Appalachian Laboratory
301 Braddock Road
Frostburg, MD 21532
301-689-7100
www.umces.edu/al

Delaware

Delaware State University

DSU Logo

Dr. Dyremple Marsh
Dean, College of Agriculture and Related Sciences
Delaware State University
1200 N. DuPont Highway, Annex Bldg, Dover, DE 19901
302-857-6400
dmarsh@desu.edu

University of Delaware

University of Delaware Logo

Greg Shriver
Assistant Professor Wildlife Ecology
Department of Entomology & Wildlife Ecology
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716
302-831-1300
gshriver@udel.edu

Susan Tompkins, CRA
Contract and Grant Specialist
Authorized Official, Research Office
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19716
302-831-8002
sdt@udel.edu

District of Columbia

American University

American University Logo

Dr. Philip Johnson
Associate Dean of Research, College of Arts and Sciences
Associate Professor, Department of Physics
American University
4400 Massachusetts Avenue, NW
Washington DC 20016
202-885-2716
pjohnson@american.edu

Dr. Jessica Young
Department of Health Studies
American University
4400 Massachusetts Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20016
(202) 885-2726
jessica@american.edu

George Washington University

George Washington University Logo

Yongwu Rong
Professor of Mathematics
Associate Dean for Research & Strategic Initiatives
Columbian College of Arts and Sciences
George Washington University
Washington, DC 20052
202-994-6130
rong@gwu.edu

LaTonya Carter
Sponsored Project Administrator, Post Award
Office of the Vice President for Research
George Washington University
Washington, DC 20052
202-994-5377
latanyacarter@gwu.edu

Howard University

Howard University Logo

Dr. George Middendorf, III
Professor, Department of Biology
415 College Street NW, Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-7289
Fax: (202) 806-4564
gmiddendorf@howard.edu

Linda Jones
Special Assistant to the Associate Provost for Research and Graduate Studies
4th and College Streets, NW, Washington, DC 20059
Phone: (202) 806-7597
Lgjones@howard.edu

University of the District of Columbia

University of the District of Columbia Logo

Dwane Jones
Director, Center for Sustainable Development
College of Agriculture, Urban Sustainability and Environmental Sciences (CAUSES)
Agricultural Experiment Station, Building 44, Room 120-#1
University of the District of Columbia
4200 Connecticut Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20008
202-274-7182
dwane.jones@udc.edu

JoVita Wells, J.D.
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
Bldg. 39- Suite 301H/301J
University of the District of Columbia
4200 Connecticut Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20008
202-274-6260
jowells@udc.edu

Maryland

Anne Arundel Community College

Anne Arundel Community College Logo

Dr. Stephen Ailstock
101 College Parkway, Arnold, MD 21012
smailstock@aacc.edu

Kathleen Bolton
Grant Specialist for Learning
Anne Arundel Community College
101 College Parkway, Arnold, MD 21012
410-777-2028
kebolton@aacc.edu

Appalachian Laboratory, UMCES

UMCES Appalachian Laboratory Logo

Dr. Eric Davidson
Director
301 Braddock Road, Frostburg, MD 21532
301-689-7204
edavidson@umces.edu

Barbara Jenkins
Senior Research Administrator
301-689-7115
bjenkins@umces.edu

Chesapeake Biological Laboratory, UMCES

UMCES Chesapeake Biological Laboratory Logo

Dr. Thomas Miller
Director
410-326-7276
miller@umces.edu

Samantha Mais
Program Administrative Specialist
410-326-7461
mais@umces.edu

Frostburg State University

Frostburg State University Logo

Dr. Thomas L. Serfass
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road, Frostburg, MD 21532
301-687-4171
tserfass@frostburg.edu

Aaron Hoel
Director, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs
Frostburg State University
101 Braddock Road, Frostburg, MD 21532
301-687-3101
ahoel@frostburg.edu

Garrett College

Garrett College Logo

Kevin Dodge
Professor of Wildlife and Biology
Director of the Natural Resources and Wildlife Technology Program
Garrett College
687 Mosser Road, McHenry, MD 21541
​301-387-3328
kevin.dodge@garrettcollege.edu

Horn Point Laboratory, UMCES

UMCES Horn Point Laboratory Logo

Dr. William Dennison
P.O. Box 775
2020 Horn Point Road, Cambridge, MD 21613-0775
410-221-2004
wdennison@umces.edu

Julianna Brush
Contract/Grant Specialist
410-221-8414
jbrush@umces.edu

Institute of Marine & Environmental Technology, UMCES

UMCES Institute of Marine & Environmental Technology

Dr. Russell Hill
701 E. Pratt St
Baltimore, MD 21202
410-234-8802
hill@umces.edu

Monica Chacon
Assistant Director
410-234-8898
mchacon@umces.edu

National Aquarium in Baltimore

National Aquarium in Baltimore Logo

Ms. Laura Bankey
National Aquarium in Baltimore
Pier 3, 501 East Pratt Street, Baltimore, MD 21202
410-576-3808
lbankey@aqua.org

Ms. Charmaine Dahlenburg
National Aquarium in Baltimore
Manager, Chesapeake Bay Programs
Pier 3, 501 East Pratt Street, Baltimore, MD 21202
410-659-4207
cdahlenburg@aqua.org

University of Maryland College Park

University of Maryland College Park

Dr. Robert Tjaden
Extension Specialist
Environmental/Natural Resources Mgmt. & Policy, Dept. of Environmental Science and Technology
1433 Animal Science/Agr. Engineering Bldg.
University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742-5551
301-405-1179
rtjaden@umd.edu

Wendy Montgomery
Director, Office of Research Administration
University of Maryland, College Park, MD 20742-5551
301-405-6279
wmont@umd.edu

University of Maryland Baltimore County

University of Maryland Baltimore County Logo

Dr. Christopher Swan
Associate Professor
University of Maryland Baltimore County
Department of Biology, 211 Sondheim Hall
1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250
410-455-3957
Chris.Swan@umbc.edu

Karen U. Barnes
CRA, Grants and Contracts Manager
Office of Sponsored Programs
Engineering, Room 329
University of Maryland Baltimore County
410-455-1374
kbarnes@umbc.edu
ospa@umbc.edu

University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science

University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science

Center Administration
Angela Richmond
Director, Office of Research Administration and Advancement
P.O. Box 775, 5745 Lovers Lane, Cambridge, MD 21613
410-221-2015
arichmond@umces.edu

Ginger Steelman
Assistant Director, Office of Research Administration and Advancement
P.O. Box 775, 5745 Lovers Lane, Cambridge, MD 21613
410-221-2014
gsteelman@umces.edu

Pennsylvania

The Academy of Natural Sciences

The Academy of Natural Sciences

Dr. David Velinsky
Senior Scientist & Vice President
Patrick Center for Environmental Research
The Academy of Natural Sciences
1900 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103
215-299-1147
djv23@drexel.edu

Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Indiana University of Pennsylvania Logo

Deanne Snavely
Dean of College of Natural Science and Mathmatics
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
1011 South Drive, Indiana, PA 15705
724-357-2609
deanne.snavely@iup.edu

Hilliary E. Creely, J.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Dean for Research
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
School of Graduate Studies and Research
Stright Hall, Room 113
Indiana, PA 15705
724-357-7730 (administrative assistant) 724-357-2655 (direct line)
hcreely@iup.edu

Ute Lowery
Grant and Contract Specialist
IUP Research Institute
1179 Grant Street, Suite One
Indiana, PA 15701
724-357-3241
ulowery@iup.edu

Pennsylvania State University

Lara B. Fowler
Law Professor and PSIEE Research Fellow
Penn State Law, Lewis Katz Building, University Park, PA 16802
814-865-8900
lbf10@psu.edu

Peter Newman
Professor and Department Head
Recreation, Park, and Tourism Management
the Pennsylvania State University
801 G. Donald H. Ford Building, University Park, PA 16802
814-863-7849
pbn3@psu.edu

Timothy Michael Stodart
Associate Director for Contracts
Office of Sponsored Programs
the Pennsylvania State University
0110J Technology Center, University Park, PA 16801
814-865-1027
tms21@psu.edu

Shippensburg University

Shippensburg University Logo

Dr. Claire Jantz, Associate Professor
Department of Geography - Earth Science
Shippensburg University
1871 Old Main Drive, Shippensburg, PA 17257
717-477-1399
cajant@ship.edu

Christopher Wonders, Director
Institute for Public Service and Sponsored Programs
Shippensburg University
1871 Old Main Drive, Shippensburg, PA 17257
717-477-1251
cawonders@ship.edu

Western Pennsylvania Conservancy

Western Pennsylvania Conservancy Logo

Ephraim Zimmerman
Ecologist/Ecological Services Coordinator
Pennsylvania Natural Heritage Program
Western Pennsylvania Conservancy
800 Waterfront Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
412-586-2319
ezimmerman@paconserve.org

Virginia

American Bird Conservancy

Dr. David Pashley
Vice President for Conservation Programs
American Bird Conservancy
P.O. Box 249, 4249 Loudoun Avenue
The Plains, VA 20198-0249
540-253-5780
dpashley@abcbirds.org

Christopher Newport University

Christopher Newport University Logo

Dr. Nicole Guajardo
Dean, College of Natural and Behavioral Sciences
Christopher Newport University
One University Place, McMurran Hall
Newport News, VA 23606
757-594-8214
nguajard@cnu.edu

The College of William and Mary

The College of William and Mary Logo

Dr. Randolph M. Chambers
Director, W.M. Keck Environmental Field Lab, Director, Environmental Science & Policy Cluster
The College of William and Mary
P.O. Box 8795, Williamsburg, VA 23187-8795
757-221-2311
rmcham@wm.edu

Jane A. Lopez, Director of Sponsored Programs
wosp@wm.edu
757-221-3965
jalope@wm.edu

George Mason University

George Mason University Logo

Dr. Paul R. Houser
Professor of Global Hydrology
George Mason University
4400 University Drive, Fairfax, VA 22030-4444
Phone: (301) 613-3782
phouser@gmu.edu

Eileene Gallagher, J.D.
Asst. Director, Contracts
Office of Sponsored Programs
George Mason University
4400 University Drive, MS 4C6, Fairfax, VA 22030
703-993-2292
egallagh@gmu.edu

James Madison University

James Madison University  Logo

Dr. Christie-Joy Brodrick Hartman
Executive Director, Office of Environmental Stewardship and Sustainability
Associate Professor, Department of Integrated Science and Technology
James Madison University
701 Carrier Drive, Harrisonburg, VA 22807
540-568-3202
brodricj@jmu.edu

Dr. Robert N Brent
Associate Professor, Integrated Science and Technology
James Madison University
701 Carrier Drive, Harrisonburg, VA 22807
540-568-2728
brentrn@jmu.edu

Dr. Christine May
Assistant Professor, Biology Department
Bioscience Building 1028D, MSC 7801
James Madison University
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
540-568-5030
maycl@jmu.edu

Tamara T. Hatch
Interim Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
James Madison University
1031 Harrison Street, JMAC 6, Suite 26, MSC 5728
Harrisonburg, Virginia 22807
540-568-2350
hatchtt@jmu.edu

University of Mary Washington

University of Mary Washington Logo

Dr. Michael Spencer
Department of Historic Preservation, Combs Hall #132
University of Mary Washington
1301 College Avenue
Fredericksburg, VA 22401-5300
540-654-1311
mspen1bi@umw.edu

University of Richmond

University of Richmond Logo

Dr. Todd Lookingbill
Asst. Prof. of Geography & the Environment, Asst. Prof. of Biology
University of Richmond
28 Westhampton Way, Richmond, VA 23173
804-289-8265
tlooking@richmond.edu

Brenda Thomas
Director of Grant Support
University of Richmond
28 Westhampton Way, Richmond, VA 23173
804-289-8005
bthomas2@richmond.edu

University of Virginia

University of Virginia Logo

Dr. Todd M. Scanlon
Associate Professor, Department of Environmental Sciences
University of Virginia, Clark Hall
P.O. Box 400123
Charlottesville, VA 22932-4123
434-924-3382
tms2v@cms.mail.virginia.edu

Ami Riscassi
Research Scientist
Department of Environmental Sciences
University of Virginia, Clark Hall
Charlottesville, VA 22932
434-924-0520
alr8m@virginia.edu

Virginia Commonwealth University

Virginia Commonwealth University Logo

Dr. Gregory Garman
Project Director, Center for Environmental Studies
Research Director, VCU Rice Rivers Center
Associate Professor, Department of Biology
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA 23284
804-828-1574
ggarman@vcu.edu

Lesley Bulluck
Assistant Professor of instruction
Department of Biology
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond, VA 23284
804-828-0072
lpbulluck@vcu.edu

Nick Fetzer
Director of Sponsored Programs- VCU Life Sciences
Virginia Commonwealth University
Trani Center for Life Sciences
1000 West Cary Street, Suite 111
Richmond, VA 23284-2030
804-827-0336
nbfetzer@vcu.edu

Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation

Virginia DCR Logo

J. Christopher Ludwig
Chief Biologist, VA DCR-DNH
600 East Main Street, 16th floor
Richmond, VA 23219
804-371-6206
chris.ludwig@dcr.virginia.gov

Virginia Institute of Marine Science

Virginia Institute of Marine Science Logo

Dr. Mark Luckenbach
Associate Dean for Research and Advisory Services
Virginia Institute of Marine Science
1375 Greate Road, Gloucester Point, VA 23062-2026
804-684-7029
luck@vims.edu

Connie M. Motley
Assistant Director of Sponsored Programs
Virginia Institute of Marine Science
1375 Greate Road, Gloucester Point, VA 23062-2026
​804-684-7027
motley@vims.edu

Virginia Tech

Virginia Tech logo

Dr. Joel Snodgrass
Head and Professor
Virginia Tech, Department of Fish and Wildlife Conservation
Cheatham Hall, Room 100 (0321), 310 West Campus Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-2215
joels@vt.edu

Dr. Paul Kelsch
Associate Professor
Virginia Tech, School of Architecture and Design
Washington Alexandria Architecture Center, 1001 Prince Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
703-566-6701
pkelsch@vt.edu

Linda Bucy
Assistant Vice President and Interim Director
Virginia Tech, Office of Sponsored Programs
North End Center, Suite 4200, 300 Turner Street NW, Blacksburg, VA 24061
540-231-5281
ospdirector@vt.edu

West Virginia

Shepherd University

Shepherd University Logo

Dr. Robert Warburton
Acting Dean, School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Shepherd University
P.O. Box 5000, Shepherdstown, WV 25434-5000
Byrd Science Center, Room 215
​304-876-5401
rwarburt@shepherd.edu

Jessica Kump
Director, Sponsored Programs and Corporate and Foundation Relations
Co-Director, Shepherd Entrepreneurship and Research Corporation (SERC)
Shepherd University
301 N. King Street, P.O. Box 5000, Shepherdstown, WV 25434-5000
​304-876-5358
jkump@shepherd.edu

CESU MCA's

Organization of American Historians

University of Florida

University of Pennsylvania